House of Suzanne Talbot (French, 1917-1957)

A fashion house of Suzanne Talbot was established by Jeanne TACHARD (1870-1963) in the early 1900s and to begin with mainly produced millinery. TACHARD was known for her "golden hands" and a highly secure sense of taste that allowed her to arrive in Paris with very little and build a successful fashion enterprise. She used "Suzanne Talbot" as the public-facing brand for her millinery business. Her atelier at 14 rue Royale in Paris was a popular destination where high-society clients came for unique creations. Suzanne Talbot atelier designed hats in Art Deco style. Its designs featured geometric lines, structured shapes, and innovative decorative elements. They used the finest materials, such as straw, satin, silk, and other luxurious fabrics, often combined with beadwork or ribbon embellishments. Suzanne Talbot fashion house was known for its custom-made pieces, and their hats were frequently worn at social events and ceremonies. In 1917 the business was acquired by Mme. Juliette MATHIEU-LÉVY (1879-1969), and it was during her time that they also began to produce couture clothing. Mme. MATHIEU-LÉVY was known as a society figure and patron of the arts. Her Paris apartment was designed by Paul RUAUD and Eileen GRAY. and she chose Madeleine VIONNET to make her wedding trousseau in 1922. After buying the house in 1917, she continued to design and release collections under the Suzanne Talbot name, often signing items or fragrances as "J. Suzanne Talbot". The fashion house remained active until 1957.
Related Object: Hat