Aux Trois Quartiers (French, 1827-1989)

The department store "Aux Trois Quartiers" was founded in 1827 by Charles-Armand GALLOIS and Marie-Augustine GIGNOUX, situated on the corner of Boulevard de la Madeleine and Rue Duphot. Specialising initially in textiles and clothing, it start selling a greater variety of items at the end of the nineteenth century. In 1870, it started making catalogues. The company alternately changed its names: Gallois-Gignoux and Gallois-Gignoux et Cie until 1866, Lacour et Pottier (1866-1886), L. Pottier (1886-1897), G. Pottier et Cie (1897-1902), Pottier frères et Cie (1902-1906), Pottier frères (1906-1928), Aux Trois Quartiers (1928-1989). It still occupies today the same place, though has been turned into a shopping mall.